The Process of Becoming a Notary and Renewing Your Certification
Effective August 1st, 2010
A person qualified for a notarial commission shall
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Lawfully reside in this state 30 days immediately preceding the filing for a notarial commission and maintain permanent residency thereafter
- Be able to read, write, and understand English
- Submit an application to the lieutenant governor containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact
- Be a Utah resident or have permanent resident status under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act
- Be endorsed by two residents of the state who are over the age of 18
- Pass the exam
STEP 1 > Testing
- Prepare for the test
- Take the test (Effective August 1st, 2010)
- Pay the testing and application fees together by credit card. You pay both the $45 application fee and the $30 testing fee together at the end of the test. Once you pay, your test is automatically submitted. Results are immediate.
- PRINT or SAVE your answers if you want a record. Remember, once you log out or leave the page displaying the questions or answers, all will be lost except for the score, which will be saved in the database.
- If you passed the test, print your application
STEP 2 > Application
- Sign application
- Endorsers sign your application. You must receive endorsements from two permanent Utah residents who are over the age of 18. Each endorser must print their name, residence address, and signature in the spaces provided on your application.
STEP 3 > Bonding
- Obtain a Notary Bond from any insurance company (bonds should be for $5,000). Check the phone book or internet for contact information of the surety of your choice)
- Most notary bonds cost $50.
- State Employees require a Risk Bond ONLY
- Oath of Office (typically comes with the bond) needs to be signed in the presence of a notary.
STEP 4 > Mail in the following:
- Original bond
- Oath of Office (Comes with Bond or Print)
Mail in all of the following documents to:
Utah State Capitol
P.O. Box 142325
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
STEP 5 > Getting and receiving your certificate
- It takes up 1-2 Weeks to process, No rush service available
- Check the spelling on your Certificate of Authority of Notary Public. All information on your certificate comes from the data you entered when applying to take the test.
- Sign your Certificate of Authority of Notary Public in the presence of a notary
- Take a copy of your certificate to any vendor providing notarial seals. When you receive your seal from the vendor, make sure it complies with UCA 46-1-16. Send it back and get a new one if it does not comply.