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*attached contains the following: 
 

May 9, 2017 

 

 

Dear Utah Notary, 

 

The 2017 General Legislative Session brought many needed changes and updates to the current notary 

code. Included in these numerous changes are new laws, as well as clarification to the existing language 

of Utah Code Annotated § Title 46 Chapter 1 Notaries Public Reform Act. It is very important that you 

review these changes as they go into effect on May 9, 2017.  

In the interest of better serving those who seek your notarial services, please review the following pages 

to familiarize yourself with these changes. Further questions can be answered by contacting our office. 

Email: notary@utah.gov  Phone: (801) 538-1041. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Jennifer Storie 

Notary Public Administrator 

Office of the Lieutenant Governor 
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1) 46-1-2 Definitions. 

46-1-2(7) "Notarial Certificate" means the affidavit described in Section 46-1-6.5 that is: 

a. a part of or attached to a notarized document: and 

b. completed by the notary and bears the notary’s signature and seal 

 

What this means to the notary: 

The law makes certain that an affidavit (notarial language) describing the events of the notarization are 

formatted similarly to what is described in Title 46-1-6.5 (see examples under number “5”).  

 

2) 46-1-2 Definitions. 

46-1-2(13) "Signature witnessing" means a notarial act in which an individual: 

a. appears in person before a notary and presents a document; 

b. provides the notary satisfactory evidence of the individual's identity, or is personally known to 

the notary; and 

c. signs the document in the presence of the notary 

 

What this means to the notary: 

This is a new notarial act. This notarial language allows for a notary to just witness a signer’s signature 

or confirm a signer’s identity, without placing the signer under oath or affirmation. This still requires the 

signer to physically appear before the notary. This will be helpful when the notarization does not require 

the signer to be placed under oath or affirmation for the document’s stated purpose.  

 

3) 46-1-4. Bond. 

A notarial commission is not effective until: 

1. the notary named in the commission takes a constitutional oath of office and files a $5,000 

bond with the lieutenant governor that: 

a. a licensed surety executes for a term of four years beginning on the commission's 

effective date and ending on the commission's expiration date; and 

b. conditions payment of bond funds to any person upon the notary's misconduct while 

acting in the scope of the notary's commission; and 

2. the oath and bond are approved by the lieutenant governor. 

 

What this means to the notary: 

Previously, a person employed by the State of Utah could be bonded through the state’s Risk 

Management office. After May 8, 2017, the Risk Management office will no longer issue bonds for state 

employees.  A state employee would be required to receive their bond through an insurance company that 

issues surety bonds. These typically cost about $50 for the 4-year commission of the notary.  If the notary 

is currently commissioned under a Risk Management bond, the commission and bond will be valid until 

the commission expires.  

 



4) 46-1-6 Powers and Limitations. 

1. A notary may perform the following act: 

a. a jurat; 

b. an acknowledgment 

c. a signature witnessing 

d. a copy certification 

e. an oath or affirmation. 

2. A notary may not: 

a. perform an act as a notary that is not described in subsection (1); or 

b. perform an act described in subsection (1) if the person for whom the notary performs 

the notarial act is not in the physical presence of the notary at the time the notary 

performs the act. 

 

What this means to the notary: 

This new addition to “Powers and limitations” adds the option to use “signature witnessing” if the 

situation calls for it. This change also affirms that acts not described in subsection (1) cannot be 

completed using your authority as a notary. It also reaffirms personal appearance by the signer when 

completing a notarization. 

 

5) 46-1-6.5. Form of notarial certificate for document notarizations. 

1. A correctly completed affidavit in substantially the form described in this section, that is 

included in or attached to a document, is sufficient for the completion of a notarization under 

this Title 46, Chapter 1, Notaries Public Reform Act. 

2. A notary shall ensure that a signer takes the following oath or makes the following affirmation 

before the notary witnesses the signature for a Jurat: "Do you swear or affirm under penalty 

of perjury that the statements in your document are true?" 

An affidavit for a jurat that is in substantially the following form is sufficient under Subsection 

(1): 

"State of Utah 

§ 

County of ____________ 

Subscribed and sworn to before me (notary public name), on this (date) day of (month), in the 

year (year), by (name of document signer). 

(Notary Seal) ____________________________________ Notary Signature". 

3. An affidavit for an acknowledgment that is in substantially the following form is sufficient 

under Subsection (1): 

"State of Utah 

§ 

County of ____________ 

On this (date) day of (month), in the year (year), before me (name of notary public), a notary 

public, personally appeared (name of document signer), proved on the basis of satisfactory 

evidence to be the person(s) whose name(s) (is/are) subscribed to in this  document, and 

acknowledged (he/she/they) executed the same 



(Notary Seal) ____________________________________ Notary Signature". 

4. An affidavit for a copy certification that is in substantially the following form is sufficient 

under Subsection (1): 

"State of Utah 

§ 

County of ____________ 

On this (date) day of (month), in the year (year), I certify that the preceding or attached 

document is a true, exact, and unaltered photocopy of (description of document), and that, to 

the best of my knowledge, the photocopied document is neither a public record nor a publicly 

recorded document. 

(Notary Seal) ____________________________________ Notary Signature". 

5. An affidavit for a signature witnessing that is in substantially the following form is sufficient 

under Subsection (1): 

"State of Utah 

§ 

County of ____________ 

On this (date) day of (month), in the year (year), before me, (name of notary public), personally 

appeared (name of document signer), proved to me through satisfactory evidence of 

identification, which was (form of identification), to be the person whose name is signed on the 

preceding or attached document in my presence. 

(Notary Seal) ____________________________________ Notary Signature". 

 

What this means to the notary: 

The law changed to provide specific notarial language for Jurat, Acknowledgement, Copy Certification, 

and Signature Witnessing. This will be very helpful to the notary, as the notary can replicate this language 

for any of the aforementioned acts, or use something substantially similar in format to produce a notarial 

certificate during a notarization. There is also an example of the verbal language for completing an oath 

or affirmation before administering a Jurat. The notary is required to read this language to the signer 

before completing a lawful Jurat. (See additional examples of notarial language in Title 57) 

 

6) 46-1-7. Disqualifications. 

A notary may not perform a notarial act if the notary: 

1. is a signer of the document that is to be notarized except in case of a self-proved will as 

provided in Section 75-2-504;  

2. is named in the document that is to be notarized except in the case of a: 

a. self-proved will as provided in Section 75-2-504; 

b. licensed attorney that is listed in the document only as representing a signer or another 

person named in the document; or 

c. licensed escrow agent, as defined in Section 31A-1-301, that: 

i. acts as the title insurance producer in signing closing documents; and 

ii. is not named individually in the closing documents as a grantor, grantee, 

mortgagor, mortgagee, trustor, trustee, vendor, vendee, lessor, lessee, buyer, or 

seller; 



3. will receive direct compensation from a transaction connected with a financial transaction in 

which the notary is named individually as a principal; or 

4. will receive direct compensation from a real property transaction in which the notary is named 

individually as a grantor, grantee, mortgagor, mortgagee, trustor,  trustee, beneficiary, vendor, 

vendee, lessor,  lessee, buyer, or seller. 

 

 

What this means to the notary: 

If the notary is a licensed escrow agent in good standing with the Utah Insurance Department, the notary 

is now able to explain closing documents and be named in the documents that will be notarized. This does 

not cover “notary signing agents” as there is no provision in State law that authorizes a notary to explain 

documents or accept money for services beyond the $5 notary fee, unless the notary is a licensed attorney 

or a licensed escrow agent. 

 

7) 46-1-15. Inspection of journal – Safekeeping and custody of journal. 

1) If a notary maintains a journal, the notary shall: 

a. Keep the journal in the notary’s exclusive custody; and 

b. Ensure that the journal is not used by any other person for any purpose 

2) The notary’s employer may not require the notary to surrender the journal upon termination of 

the notary’s employment. 

 

What this means to the notary: 

The length to which the notary should keep their journal after they are no longer a notary is left up to the 

notary to decide. We do suggest the notary keep the journal for a sufficient amount of time to be able to 

use as evidence if a notarization is called into question. The nationwide standard is 10 years. 

 

8). 46-1-16. Official signature – Official seal – Seal impression. 

       6) A notary may not use a notarial seal independent of a notarial certificate 

 

What this means to the notary: 

Every notarization is required to have the notary’s seal (stamp), notarial language, and notary’s signature. 

A notary’s seal may not be used unless there is notarial language and a signature in place. 

 

9) 46-1-18. Liability. 

3) It is a class B misdemeanor, if not otherwise a criminal offense under this code, for: 

a. A notary to violate a provision of this chapter; or 

b. The employer of a notary to solicit the notary to violate a provision of this chapter. 

 

What this means to the notary: 

The criminal penalty for violating any provision under this chapter is now a class B misdemeanor. 

Previously this only applied to certain parts in the chapter. 

 



 

10) 46-4-20. Change of name or address – Bond policy rider. 

1) Within 30 days after the day on which a notary changes the notary’s name, the notary shall 

provide to the lieutenant governor: 

a) The notary’s new name, including official documentation of the name change; and a 

bond policy rider that a notary obtains in accordance with Subsection (2). 

2) To obtain a bond policy rider, the notary shall 

a) Notify the surety for the notary’s bond 

b) obtain a bond policy rider  reflecting both the old and new name of the notary; 

c) return the bond policy rider; 

d) destroy the original commission; and 

e) destroy the old official seal 

3) A notary is not required to change the notary’s name by adopting the surname of the 

notary’s spouse. 

4) Within 30 days of the day on which a notary’s residential or business address changes, the 

notary shall provide the notary’s new residential or business address to the lieutenant 

governor. 

 

What this means to the notary: 

If a notary has legally changed their name, the notary has 30 days to notify the Lt. Governor’s office of 

the change. There are times when a notary may not adopt their spouse’s surname, in which case the notary 

may continue to use their original stamp until expiration. The notary will no longer have to pay a $5 fee to 

change the notary’s name on the commission, or send in the original certificate when requesting the 

change. The notary is now required to update the notary’s business and residential address within 30 days 

of the change. 

 

 

 
 

 
 

DISCLAIMER: This document is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be comprehensive or an 

authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. 

Updated May 8, 2017. 

 


