Become a Notary

Complete the following steps to become a Utah Notary Public and get your Certificate of Authority in just under 2 weeks!

– Meet the qualifications and study for the test
– Take, pass and pay for the test online
– Submit your Application, Bond and Oath of Office

Start today and have it by Thursday October 04th.

Manage Account

Time to reapply? Welcome back!

The State of Utah does not have a provision for notaries public to renew, however, you may use your current notary username and password to update your information and take the test.

If your legal name has changed since your last commission please create a new account and proceed.

Find a Notary

Looking for a registered notary public?
No problem.

Check out our interactive search tools to help you find a notary in your area or near a specific place.

News and Information

UPDATE: Third Party Notary Organizations (NNA, 123 Notary, etc.)

September 10th, 2018 - Update: National Notary Association (NNA) requires the notary applicant to show proof of passing Utah’s notary test before they will issue a bond. However, the bond cannot be effective until it is in conjunction with an active notary commission,… Continue Reading

Notary Seminar Registration Logan, UT August 16, 2018

July 26th, 2018 - Registration is now open! This free notary training seminar is available to existing notaries public, and those wanting to know more about becoming a notary public for the State of Utah. Notaries public hold an important position of responsibility, therefore,… Continue Reading

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2018 NOTARY FEE INCREASE

June 29th, 2018 - The Lieutenant Governor’s office will be changing the rates of notary commissions effective July 1, 2018. The new fee for a four year commission will be $95 for the initial application and test, and $40 to retake the notary… Continue Reading

Notary Seminar July 9th, 2018

June 4th, 2018 - Registration is now open! This free notary training seminar is available to existing notaries public, and those wanting to know more about becoming a notary public for the State of Utah. Notaries public hold an important position of responsibility,… Continue Reading

Keeping up with Notary Law

February 8th, 2018 - Notary Newsletter February 2018 In Utah, Notaries Public are commissioned for a four year period. Utah law also requires a person to take and pass a test in order to qualify to become a notary public; however, there are… Continue Reading

When can I refuse a notarization?

December 8th, 2017 - Many notaries feel they can refuse service based solely on the content of the document; but that is not true. Our recommendation is to not refuse service unless the signer: is unable to produce proper ID is not signing… Continue Reading

“I need a notarization”… A conversation between notary and signer

November 3rd, 2017 - Most of the public at large may not know the intricacies of having a document notarized, and when the document doesn’t already include notarial language, they may not know what they need. However, the notarial language is not something… Continue Reading

5 Steps to Completing a Correct Notarization of a Signature

June 14th, 2017 - Follow these 5 Steps to Completing a Correct Notarization of a Signature

Effective May 9, 2017 Important New Notary Laws

May 9th, 2017 - Dear Utah Notary, The 2017 General Legislative Session brought many needed changes and updates to the current notary code. Included in these numerous changes are new laws, as well as clarification to the existing language of Utah Code Annotated… Continue Reading

Important Notice Regarding Discontinuation of Risk Management Bond

April 3rd, 2017 - RE: DISCONTINUATION OF RISK MANAGEMENT BONDS FOR NOTARY PUBLIC Beginning May 9, 2017, The Division of Risk Management will no longer issue bonds for State employees applying to be notaries public. Current Risk Management bonds issued to notaries will… Continue Reading