Process and Qualifications
If you are interested in becoming a remote notary, please click here.
To become a Notary Public in the State of Utah, you must meet all of the following qualifications:
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Be a U.S citizen or have permanent resident status under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act.
- Must lawfully reside in the State of Utah or be employed in the state for at least 30 days prior to applying for a notarial commission commission and maintain permanent residency or employment thereafter.
- Be able to read, write, and understand English.
- Pay for and pass the online exam.
- Submit to the mandatory background check.
- Upload a copy of your notarial bond and Oath of Office to the Lieutenant Governor’s office containing no significant misstatement or omission of facts.
Step 1 Study for the test
Here are important links and information regarding what will be on the test, and more importantly what you’ll need to know in order to be an efficient and effective notary:
- Study Guide (Updated 5-16-2022)
- News and Information Articles (Featured on the Home Page)
- Notary Code
Step 2 Create Your Account
Click this link to enter your personal information. This step is necessary in creating your application and also to be able to start the test. Please make sure you meet the qualifications listed above before beginning.
Once you have completed the account creation process you will be directed to begin the test.
Step 3 Take – Pay for – Pass the Test
After taking the test, immediately be ready to pay the testing and administration fee of $95*. Once you pay, your test is automatically submitted and the results are immediate.
If you fail you get your results and then you must pay an additional testing fee of $40 each time until you pass the test. (Note: this offer will only be good for 30 days from the date of the first test.)
Step 4 Mandatory Background Check Submission
Once you have taken the test, you will be directed to submit a mandatory background check. As of November 1st, 2019, all Notary Public applications in the State of Utah must submit a background check.
Please note: You will not be notified when your background check has been processed so please continue with the process without the results.
Step 5 Obtain Your $5,000, Notarial Bond
For information about obtaining the Notarial Bond, click here.
Step 6 Get Your Oath of Office Notarized
Your Oath of Office typically comes with your bond, if it doesn’t click here
Step 7 Upload and Submit the Required Documents
- Double-check the information on your application page. Your certificate of Authority of Notary Public will be emailed to the email address listed on your application)
- Original Bond
- Notarized Oath of Office
- If you need to submit any additional explanation of crimes committed, please upload a separate document containing the explanations.
Please note: there is no final submit button. Once you upload your documents, your application is complete and we will email you your certificate once it has been processed.
*the cost of the test is non-refundable.